Sheriff’s Annual Awards

April 21, 2009
Contact: Elise Schaffer, PIO Phone: (608) 284-6142 Email:
Sheriff's Office

On Thursday, April 30th at 1:00 pm, Dane County Sheriff David Mahoney will present the 2008 Sheriff’s Awards to 46 citizens, deputies, and staff. Epic has graciously donated the space for this year’s event, which will be held in the Andromeda building’s Delphi room on the Epic campus located at 1979 Milky Way in Verona, WI. The program will begin with 15 citizens/businesses accepting awards for their support of the Dane County Sheriff’s Office. Awards will be presented to Work Truck Stuff, Inc. and Yahara Materials for their support of the Dane County EOD Team. Wal-Mart, MG & E, UW Health, Waisman Center, State Bank of Cross Plains, Madison South Rotary, and the Helen Bader Foundation will all be recognized for their high level of support of Dane County’s Project Lifesaver program. K9 Unit supporters InterLink Funding, LLC, Dane County Credit Union, and Hunter Schulz of Middleton, will all be accepting awards, as will Lee & Associates and AAA Wisconsin. A Valor award will be presented to Deputy Dale Veto who was seriously injured during a vehicle pursuit in March of 2008. The Dane County Tactical Response Team will be recognized for their involvement in a call-out to Richland County in April of 2008. In addition, Exceptional Service awards will be presented to Deputies Randall Wiessinger, Thor Spilde, Christopher Ramirez, Jason Walters, Leslie Fox, and Michael Butler. Sgt. Lorie Wiessinger and Field Services Manager Amy Nyland-Schmook will also be recognized for their efforts to develop Dane County’s Project Lifesaver program. An Outstanding Service award will be given to Deputy Heidi Gardner for her work with the Cambridge School District. Deputy Gardner worked as the School Resource Officer for Cambridge from 2003 – 2008. Six Dane County Sheriff’s Deputies will be presented with Lifesaving awards. They are: Joshua Seeley, Matthew Earll, Christopher Moore, Matthew Peterson, Jeffrey Thiel, and Michael Block. The program will conclude with Deputy Miles (Tony) Enger and K9 Milo who will be presented with the North American Police Work Dog Association Outstanding Service award. Congratulations to all of the recipients. Their hard work and dedication is an asset to the Sheriff’s Office and all of Dane County.