February 22, 2019
County Board Chair, Sharon Corrigan 608.333.2285
County Board


Nelson, Eicher Join Leadership


Supervisor Paul Nelson (District 9) was elected as First Vice Chair of the Dane County Board of Supervisors, replacing former Supervisor Jenni Dye who recently resigned from the Board to take a position in the Governor’s Office. 


“Supervisor Nelson is someone who is thoughtful and wants to really understand the issues; he will be a great addition to Board leadership” said Supervisor Michele Ritt, who nominated Nelson for the position.


Nelson was first elected to the County Board in 2014, representing District 9 which includes portions of Middleton and Madison.  He currently serves as chair of the Public Works and Transportation Committee.


Nelson spoke of the impressive depth of the talent on the Dane County Board, noting that six members of the body held key roles in the Ever’s administration.  He also noted the promise of new and continuing supervisors, saying “I want to work with Chair Corrigan and Supervisor Eicher to really be sure, as we move forward, that we continue to have the kinds of accomplishments we’ve had, and to make everyone feel confident and comfortable so, when the time comes and you’re asked to take a leadership role, you can say, ‘Yes, I’m ready to do this.’”


Also on Thursday, Supervisor Analiese Eicher, who represents District 3 in Sun Prairie, was elected as Second Vice Chair.  She replaces former Supervisor Jeff Pertl who also recently resigned to serve as Deputy Secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Children and Families.


In nominating Eicher, Supervisor Young said, “Having served with Supervisor Eicher on the Health and Human Needs Committee, I know what a dedicated and tireless public servant she is, in addition to the intelligence and drive she brings to policy making.”


Eicher told the body, “I love local government, and I love county government, and I am looking forward to working with each of you in this capacity.”


The Dane County Board generally elects the leadership positions of Chair, First Vice Chair, and Second Vice Chair for two year terms in April of even numbered years, after County Board elections.  Nelson and Eicher will continue in their new roles until April of 2020.