Who We Are

The Land & Water Resources Department (LWRD) consists of five divisions: Administration, Land Conservation, Office of Lakes and Watersheds, Parks, and Water Resource Engineering.

Our Mission

LWRD ensures the protection and enhancement of Dane County’s natural, cultural, and historic resources; provides the County’s citizens with a broad array of accessible, high quality resource-based recreational services and facilities; and supports citizens, communities, local governments and other agencies and organizations in their resource management and protection activities.