Accessibility Information


Agency Listing Committee Listing Contact Us Disaster Assistance Registration Most Viewed Services

County Supervisors Call for Federal Action on LGBT Civil Rights

For more information contact:

Supervisor Kyle Richmond, 608-251-3171


Issued By: County Board Supervisors
View only releases from County Board Supervisors

MADISON –Twenty members of the Dane County Board on Tuesday called for the U.S. Congress and President Barack Obama to take immediate action on four issues affecting sexual minority communities in Wisconsin and the United States.

In a letter to the President and copied to members of the Wisconsin Congressional Delegation, rural and urban supervisors from across Dane County specifically request that the Congress pass the Employment Non-Discrimination Act (ENDA) and the Uniting American Families Act, which respectively would bar discrimination in the workplace on the basis of sexual orientation and provide equal immigration rights to same-gender couples.

“Surely all Americans deserve the same protections from discrimination at their jobs, regardless of sexual orientation,” Supervisor Chuck Erickson said. “We’re calling for Congress to act now to finally pass ENDA and provide a basic civil right to millions of people across the country.”

The letter also asks the President and Congress to repeal the so-called Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA), which bars same-gender couples from receiving federal marriage rights, and to end the U.S. military’s “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” policy which requires gay and lesbian members to hide their sexual orientation or be removed from military service.

“It’s past time to give lesbian and gay citizens the same right to marry that heterosexuals have,” said Supervisor Kyle Richmond. “We want our federal government to catch up to public opinion and address this major civil rights issue now.”

The letter – sent from a majority of Dane County Board members – is addressed to President Obama and copied to Senator Russ Feingold, Senator Herb Kohl, Congresswoman Tammy Baldwin, Congressman Steve Kagen, Congressman Ron Kind, Congresswoman Gwen Moore, Congressman David Obey, Congressman Thomas Petri, Congressman Paul Ryan and Congressman Jim Sensenbrenner.

Accessibility Contact Us Employment Employee Resources Language Options Logo Terms of Use